

Peru Pro Tempore Presidency 2012 - 2013

MINUTES

SECOND MEETING OF THE WORK GROUP ON TELECOMMUNICATIONS IN SOUTH AMERICA

On March 26, 2013, in the city of Lima, Peru, the Second Meeting of the Work Group on Telecommunications in South America of the South American Infrastructure and Planning Council (COSIPLAN) of the Union of South American Nations (UNASUR) was held, with the participation of delegations from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela. The list of participants is attached as Appendix 1.

The meeting was chaired by Raúl Ricardo Pérez – Reyes Espejo, Vice-Minister of Communications of the Ministry of Transport and Communications of Peru, in exercise of the COSIPLAN Pro Tempore Presidency.

In the first place, the Agenda was approved and is attached as Appendix 2.

The Meeting was held, chaired by the Peru Pro Tempore Presidency, and each item of the Agenda was developed as follows:

1. Presentation and review of the Terms of Reference of the IDB Technical Cooperation for the South American Connectivity Network for Integration studies

The delegations approved by consensus, after the corresponding discussions, the Terms of Reference of the studies to be funded by the "South American Connectivity Network for Integration" Technical Cooperation.

Among other subjects, it was agreed to coordinate on the schedule for submitting reports and give an extension of 15 days to review the Agreement of Confidentiality. The documents approved are attached as Appendix 3.



Peru Pro Tempore Presidency 2012 - 2013

2. Current situation of the IDB Technical Cooperation

The Peru Pro Tempore Presidency reported on the current situation of the Technical Cooperation with the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) to fund the "South American Connectivity Network for Integration" as well as on the steps to be taken towards its approval.

It was reported that the Terms of Reference of the studies and the Agreement project will be submitted to the Council of Delegates of UNASUR for approval, as per UNASUR Political Guidelines for Relations with Third Parties.

3. Presentation and approval of the Technical Cooperation Agreement with IDB for the South American Connectivity Network for Integration studies

After the corresponding discussions and as the Telecommunications WG considers the results of such studies as urgent, the Pro Tempore Presidency was entrusted, to negotiate with the IDB a reasonable reduction on the original schedule term, so it will be, if possible, no more than 12 months; it was also agreed on matching funds of the countries. Appendix 1 of the Agreement will be adapted to considerations approved for the Terms of Reference. After negotiations and determinations with the IDB, the document will be submitted to the countries for final review and approval, in no more than 15 days.

4. Technical Cooperation Management

The delegations agree that the Pro Tempore Presidency shall submit to the consideration of all countries a proposal for mechanisms and timeframes to perform the consultancies and approve documents related to the selection process of the consultancy to formulate studies, as well as the review and approval of the partial and final reports on such studies.



Peru Pro Tempore Presidency 2012 - 2013

5. Others

It was agreed to review the Work Group Road Map and to propose recommendations deemed necessary by the countries through a videoconference to be held in 20 days.

The countries were requested to update their focal points by e-mail.

Appendixes:

Appendix 1: List of participants Appendix 2: Approved agenda Appendix 3: Terms of Reference

| The Republic of Argentina | The Plurinational State of Bolivia |
|-----------------------------------|------------------------------------|
| The Federative Republic of Brazil | The Republic of Chile |
| The Republic of Colombia | The Republic of Ecuador |



Peru Pro Tempore Presidency 2012 - 2013

| The Consent of Bookhine | The Development of Deve |
|--------------------------|-------------------------|
| The Cooperative Republic | The Republic of Peru |
| of Guyana | |
| The Republic of Suriname | The Oriental Republic |
| | of Uruguay |
| | |
| The Bolivarian Republic | |
| of Venezuela | |